Happy Birthday Phoebe

Today is Phoebe Meredith’s birthday. Our fearless leader. Captain Meredith. The General Manager. The Boss. The lady behind the Lady (her unfortunately suggestive phrasing, not mine).

For anyone who has been living under a rock, it is important you know that Phoebe is awesome. She is a rarity. An organised, passionate, focused, energetic, disciplined, thoughtful manager who believes wholeheartedly in the arts and in using her skills to support them.

More than that, Phoebe is a wonderful friend and truly good hearted person (without being one of those over-nice saccharine sorts of course). She is funny and warm and open-minded. She is endlessly supportive of those she cares about, sometimes to the detriment of her own well-being. And she can be fabulously silly and irresponsible and hilarious just when it is needed.

There is a scene in Love Actually (*cough* please note, am not ashamed of embarrassing cultural reference) where the ageing, drunk rocker played by Bill Nighy leaves a party at Elton John’s house to go get drunk with his fat manager. He says “It’s a terrible, terrible mistake, Chubs, but you turn out to be the fucking love of my life.”

Now, in our case I am the fat one, and that same character says “Don’t buy drugs. Become a pop star, and they give you them for free” and this has not happened despite my epic emerging musical career. But the first quote serves a purpose…

We place a huge amount of emphasis on finding the right romantic partner. And sure, that’s important. But finding good friends, and finding the right people to work with is, for me, equally important. In Phoebe I have found a wonderful friend and someone I feel I could work with for many years to come. We agree and disagree in perfect proportion for getting the job done while remaining intellectually and creatively challenged. We respect each others’ skills and differences. We’re equally ambitious. And we have fun while we’re at it.

Phoebe isn’t the ‘love of my life’, but she sure is my business-partner-soulmate. And I feel so lucky to have found her.

Not taking ourselves too seriouslyI was listening to The Carpenters today (because sometimes when I am anxious I listen to the Carpenters very loudly) and I came closer than I’d like to admit to recording a youtube of myself singing ‘I won’t last a day without you’ with changed lyrics. But there are only 4 minutes left of your birthday, so I’ll just post this far superior version and ask you to ignore the romancey stuff and replace the bridge (“Touch me and I end up singing”) with the following:

“Manage me and I end up singing,
Troubles seem to up and disappear,
Organise me with the schedules you’re bringing,
I can’t really lose when you’re near”

Oh and I had a whole bit in the last verse about the Australia Council not giving us money. We’ll save it for a live rendition at our closing night do…

Happy Birthday Phoebebebebe! xxx

we want to know your thoughts. leave a reply.

